What is Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS)?

Restriction of Hazardous Substances Definition

Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS), also known as Directive 2002/95/EC, restricts the use of specific hazardous materials found in electrical and electronic products (EEE) and originated in the European Union. All applicable products in the EU after July 1, 2006, must adhere to RoHS compliance. The banned substances under RoHS include lead (Pb), mercury (Hg), cadmium (Cd), hexavalent chromium (CrVI), polybrominated biphenyls (PBB), polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDE), and four different phthalates (DEHP, BBP, BBP, DIBP). The restricted materials are hazardous to the environment and create occupational exposure risks during manufacturing and recycling.


What products does RoHS apply to?

RoHS applies to electrical or electronic products, equipment, sub-assemblies, cables, components, or spare parts that were released to the EU market since July 1, 2006.

*Source: https://www.rohsguide.com

What are the 10 RoHS substances?

The RoHS directive currently restricts the use of these ten substances:

  1. Lead
  2. Cadmium
  3. Mercury
  4. Hexavalent Chromium
  5. Polybrominated Biphenyls (PBB)
  6. Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDE)
  7. Bis(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP)
  8. Benzyl Butyl Phthalate (BBP)
  9. Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)
  10. Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP).

*Souce: https://www.rohsguide.com

What RoHS 3 compliance?

RoHS 3 (EU 2015/863) expands the list of prohibited substances from six to ten by adding four new types of phthalates. This directive has been adopted by the EU legislature and came into full force on July 22, 2019 with a special provision for medical devices until 2021.

*Source: https://starfishmedical.com

Meet RoHS, REACH, WEEE, and Conflict Minerals Compliance

See how Arena PLM and QMS help companies comply with environmental regulations and achieve ,ore sustainable product development.