Fix a Mistake by Correcting a Locked File Edition
If you need to replace the content of a File edition—let’s say you find a typo in the original content—but the edition is locked through association with an Item, you can replace the file’s content with a new file. The corrected File edition is marked with a dagger symbol—when the File becomes unlocked, the dagger is removed and the replacement content is kept.
To correct a File edition, go to a File record in the Files world and click the Correct command. Enable corrections for your workspace with the Corrections Allowed Workspace Setting in the Account Administration tool. You can also set whether an Account Administrator should have the option to remove the original file content completely when correcting an edition.